2017 Red Putter Champion is James Sullivan

James Sullivan is the 2017 Red Putter Pro Tournament champion.

The tournament started with a tribute to Bob Yttri, former course owner and tournament director who died in April.  The 16th annual tournament brought 58 competitors to the north Ephraim mini golf course Saturday, Aug. 5.   

James Sullivan in won a playoff on the Bear hole to take the trophy for best single game.

Sullivan, of Saint Jacob, Illinois, scored a 3-round total of 106 to claim the championship trophy, $2,000 cash prize and the coveted Red Jacket. Sullivan, 17, has played the tournament for six years, this is his first win.  He scored a 34 in each of his first two rounds, which tied for Best Single Game with Paul Nelson and M. J. Buckley. Sullivan won the tie-breaker on the Bear hole to win the trophy for Best Single Game.  

Matthew Kraus, of Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, took home the second place trophy with a three round score of 110.  There was a tie for third place at 112.  In a tie-breaker that lasted two holes, Paul Nelson of Fish Creek claimed the third place trophy.  

Next year’s tournament will be held Saturday, Aug. 4, 2018.  Players can now qualify for next year’s tournament, by shooting under par on the course. Several have already qualified and have their names on the Red Putter Pro Board.
The next event at The Red Putter will be the Frostbite Open, held on New Year’s Day.  The Frostbite is an open tournament with no need to qualify.

Related Organizations

Article Comments