2019 Algoma Beacon Award Winners

Nearly 90 people gathered at the historic Hotel Stebbins for the annual Algoma Chamber Beacon Awards, recently renamed from the BIE Awards. Chamber President Tracy Nelson of East Shore Industries opened the ceremony that honored the following individuals and entities for their contributions to the Algoma-area community.  

The Business of the Year honor went to Bob Davis, co-owner of the Scenic Shore Inn. Chamber board member Jim Rabas of Algoma Motors presented it.

Scenic Shore Inn was named Business of the Year, recognized for its commitment to the community and tourism industry following its recent addition of 12 rooms, a conference space, pool, sauna and lounging deck. Laurie and Kristina Griffin and Bob Davis are the co-owners.

Sue Hass of the Algoma Book Corner presented the Rising Star Award to Heidi Raak.

Yardstick: Bookshop and Gallery, owned by Rising Star Award winner Heidi Raak, is a new business in downtown Algoma. Raak was commended for her innovative programming, book curation and overall commitment to bettering the city.  

The Lighthouse Award for Volunteering was presented to Abigail Robinson by Teal Vanlanen, Rev. Jennifer Emert, Katie Horn, Erin Ballone and fellow Algoma High School students David Garrels, Anna McClure and Elizabeth Jerome.

Abigail Robinson, an Algoma High School senior, earned the newly created Lighthouse Award for Volunteering for creating the Wolves and Pups mentorship program, in which high school students work one-to-one with young students on skill sets ranging from hygiene to positive attitudes.

Emily Rankin received the Education Award, presented by educators Jamie Robinson and Logan Reid.

Emily Rankin was recognized with the Education Award for her compassion and success in working with students with disabilities at Algoma Elementary School. Her peers also said that her playful nature keeps spirits high.

The Employee of the Year honor went to Seth Schroepfer, presented by his employer, Chet Kiedrowski.

Employee of the Year Seth Schroepfer of CTI Hospitality is celebrating his 17th year with the manufacturer of custom wood products. He began as a carpenter and now leads the builders as the shop manager.In addition to the Beacon Award presentations, the Chamber also recognized Allie Groessl and Judy Srnka for more than 25 years of volunteer service to the Chamber.

Related Organizations