All-County Effort

The 15-year-old Door County Babe Ruth All-Star team recently returned from the state tournament in Dodgeville, Wis., where they went three for five. They came up one game short on Sunday, July 13, of the semi-final championship game. What is unique about the team this year is – true to a Door County team – boys from all five schools in the county are represented.

Players are: Connor Brennan, Ernie Erickson and Casey Weddig (Gibraltar); Isaiah Spetz (Sevastopol); Nick LeCaptain and Tory Jandrin (Southern Door); Jeffrey Alberts, Brandon Krause, Collin Mirkes and Jacob Moeller (Sturgeon Bay); and Alex Johnson (Washington Island). The team is coached by Jamie Alberts, Mark LeCaptain and Brian Spetz.