April 5 Door County Election Results








Voters turned out in droves for the normally low-key sptrin elections tonight, an election that will have big implications for county schools.








In Southern Door, three challengers swept their way onto the school board, unseating three incumbents. They rode a wave of voter sentiment against the referendum, which failed by nearly 500 votes.








Sevastopol school fared better, passing its referendum handily, as did Washington Island. Speaking of the Island, a late write-in candidate, Joel Gunnlaugsson, swooped in and won the town chairperson’s seat.








In Baileys Harbor, where the board took its plan to expand the town’s commercial core to the voters in an advisory referendum, voters surprised them with a solid no vote. Town Chairman Jim Parent also narrowly lost his seat to Don Sitte by just two votes.








Results (winners in italics)








Baileys Harbor Town Chair
















James Parent 267
















Don Sitte 269
















Egg Harbor Town Supervisor
















Myles Dannhausen 247
















Joe Krauel 208
















Forestville Town Supervisor
















Roy Englebert 228
















Jason Tlachac 174
















Jim Valley 155
















Gardner Town Supervisor
















Emily Ahlswede 245
















Rocky Colombo 147
















Jacksonport Town Chair
















Alvin Birnschein 234
















Kari Anderson 155
















Jacksonport Town Supervisor
















Randall Halstead 249
















Tom Savage 124
















Washington Town Chairperson
















Write-in (Joel Gunnlaugsson) 194
















Elizabeth Holmes 88
















Carol Stayton 94
















Washington Town Supervisor
















Randy Sorensen 301
















Joel Gunnlaugsson 311
















Terri Moore 111
















Ephraim Village Trustee
















Sue Sherman 122
















Jane Olson 90
















Brad Massey 88
















Sturgeon Bay City Council District 3
















John Lodl 286
















Ed Ireland 211
















Sturgeon Bay City Council District 5
















Joe Stutting 261
















Stephen Mann 185
















Gibraltar School Board
















Sally Pfeifer 1645
















Fred Anderson 1436
















Joe Warner 783
















Southern Door School Board
















Perry DeGrave 772
















Deb Kluth 1,242
















Terry Mcnulty 1,197
















Pamela Parks 1,521
















Larry Jeanquart 795
















Chuck Bretl 994
















Washington Island School Board
















Connie Hatch 199
















Robert Cornell 229
















Baileys Harbor Core Extension Referendum
















Yes 217
















No 336
















Sevastopol School Referendum
















Yes 1455
















No 546
















Washington Island School Referendum
















Yes 238
















No 209
















Southern Door School Referendum
















Yes 1079
















No 1586




Village of Sister Bay President


Denise Bhirdo 275


(Write-in) 53