Artists Announced for 2013 Door Prize for Portraiture

“Lizbeth” by Jeff Young.

Twenty-one regional artists were invited to participate in the fourth annual Door Prize for Portraiture exhibit at Chez Cheryl Art Space in July. Funded and organized by Cheryl Stidwell Parker and husband Steve Lavell, the Door Prize will open to the public June 28 for viewing on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays through July.

“Monday Breakfast” by Ken Klopack.

Past Door Prize events yielded a variety of approaches to the genre, including homages to great masters, experiments in caricature along with expressive, thought-provoking and often humorous approaches to the portrait. Artists include: Sharon Auberle, Ernest Beutel, Julia Van Roo Bresnahan, Sally Everhardus, Lynn Gilchrist, Emmett Johns, Liz Maltman, Randy Rasmussen, Rick Risch, Suzanne Rose, Cynthia Wolfe, and Archelle “Buttons” Wolst (Door County); Mark Zelten, Jeff Young, and Sharon Delvoye (Green Bay); Mary Ulm Mayhew (Newburg, Wis.); Stephen Titra and Ken Klopack (Illinois); Paula Swaydan Grebel (Plymouth, Wis.); Pam Clausen (Kewaunee); and Tim Nyberg (Stillwater, Wis.).

This invitational exhibition includes a return visit from guest juror Graeme Reid, Director of Exhibitions of the Museum of Wisconsin Art, West Bend, Wis., who will select the Best in Show and two honorable mention awards.

Chez Cheryl Artspace, located at 8360 High Plateau Road in Baileys Harbor, will be open 11 am – 4 pm Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. For more information contact Stidwell Parker at 421.1690 or [email protected].