Ash, de Young Earn Packerland Outstanding Achievement Awards

Two scholar-athletes from Sevastopol High School have earned Packerland Conference Outstanding Achievement Awards for 2021-22.

Franklin Ash and Jack de Young were both recognized for having competed as three-sport athletes their junior and senior years, earned a minimum of seven athletic letters, and maintained at least a 3.9 cumulative grade-point average, compiled in accordance with the WIAA scholar-athlete formula.

Scholar-Athlete Awards

Two boys and two girls from each of the four Door County high schools in the Packerland Conference were nominated for the conference’s Scholar-Athlete Awards.

The nominees were required to be second-semester seniors, have earned at least four varsity letters through participation in WIAA-sanctioned sports, and have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Those receiving Scholar-Athlete Awards for 2021-22 are:

• Gibraltar: boys: Angel Jauregui and Nico Salm; girls: Emmaly Bertges and Sarah Daubner

• Sevastopol: boys: Emmett Tamaszewski and Alex Valdivia; girls: Samantha Differt and Madilyn Volkmann

• Southern Door: boys: Lane Aleson and Collin Grota; girls: Kaylee Griep and Anna Olson

• Sturgeon Bay: boys: Spencer Hubbard and James Pollock; girls: Maggie Stephens and Hannah Sternard