Awards Available for Wisconsin Writers

The Council for Wisconsin Writers (CWW) invites submissions of writing published in 2009 by Wisconsin authors in the following contest categories: book-length works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry; short fiction and nonfiction; children’s literature; outdoor writing; and a set of five individual poems. The submission period opened November 1 and closes on January 31, 2010, the postmark deadline.

All submitters must be current residents of Wisconsin. An award of $500 and a weeklong residency at Edenfred, in Madison, will be made in each category. Entry fee is $15; out-of-state judges will make the selections.

CWW also sponsors an Essay Award for Young Writers (1,500 word maximum) for Wisconsin high school student writers; there is no entry fee, and the award is $250 (for this year only, thanks to an anonymous donor; no residency is included). Members of the board will judge. Deadline for the student essay contest is also January 31, 2009.

Nominations are also open for the $500 Christopher Latham Sholes Award, recognizing a Wisconsin resident or organization for outstanding encouragement of Wisconsin writers.

Specific guidelines, entry forms, and important additional information for each category are available on the website, , or by writing contest co-chair Marilyn L. Taylor, 2825 E. Newport Ave., Milwaukee 53211, indicating the contest categories needed.