Beacon Award Winners Announced

The Algoma Area Chamber of Commerce has announced the recipients of its Beacon Awards.

Scenic Shore Inn won in the business category for its addition, which doubled the number of rooms and added a pool, sauna and large deck. Co-owners Bob Davis and Laurie and Kristina Griffin seek to provide a quiet, scenic, small-town stay overlooking Lake Michigan that’s near both Door County and Green Bay.

The new Yardstick: Bookshop and Gallery, which hosts a monthly Letter Writing Society Club, earned the Rising Star award. Owner Heidi Raak is a Book Corner volunteer and Art of Water organizer.

Algoma High School senior Abigail Robinson received the Lighthouse award. Among many other accomplishments, she has implemented a new mentorship and after-school program in the school district that pairs high school mentors with elementary students to increase emotional and social well-being.

Algoma Elementary School paraprofessional Emily Rankin won in the education category for her commitment, determination and drive to serve students with special needs.

Seth Schroepfer of CTI Hospitality was honored in the employee category. He began his career as a builder/finisher and now manages seven builders and handles a large hotel-client load while maintaining a tight shipping schedule.The award presentation will take place at Hotel Stebbins on April 22. To learn more and register, visit