Birmingham, Catarozoli Won’t Seek Re-election in Sturgeon Bay

Sturgeon Bay Common Council meetings could be much quieter next year. Two-term Mayor Thad Birmingham and Alderwoman Kelly Catarozoli have both decided not to seek re-election in April, dramatically altering the make-up at City Hall.

Birmingham and Catarozoli have been foes since before Catarozoli joined the council in 2015, and their disdain for each other has been clear in many battles in council chambers during the last three years.

They join alderwoman Barbara Allmann in leaving City Hall. Alderman David Ward won’t seek re-election in District 3, but he is running to replace Birmingham in the top seat. He’ll be challenged by Shawn Fairchild.

In District 1 Helen Bacon has returned nomination papers, while Dawn Goodban has also taken out papers. Dan Williams has returned papers to run in District 3, and Sean Linnan has taken papers out.

In District 5 Gary Nault and Sarah Evenson have taken out nomination papers to run for Allmann’s seat, while Kirsten McFarlin has turned in papers to challenge incumbent Laurel Hauser in District 7. Ryan Herlache has also taken out nomination papers for the seat.


David Ward
Shawn Fairchild
*Incumbent Thad Birmingham is not seeking re-election.

District 1

Helen Bacon
Dawn Goodban has taken out nomination papers.
*Incumbent Kelly Catarozoli is not seeking re-election.

District 3

Dan Williams
Sean Linnan has taken out nomination papers.
*Incumbent David Ward is running for mayor.

District 5

Gary Nault
Sarah Evenson has taken out nomination papers.
*Incumbent Barbara Allmann is not seeking re-election.

District 7

Laurel Hauser
Kirsten McFarlin
Ryan Herlache has taken out nomination papers.

Related Organizations