Clipper Golfers Repeat as Conference Champs

For the second year in a row, Sturgeon Bay’s boys golf team has won the Packerland Conference championship.

The Clippers, who won all of the nine-hole conference matches this season, also topped Friday’s 18-hole Packerland tournament at Wander Springs with a four-player score of 350, followed by Gibrlatar (397), Southern Door (420), Peshtigo (433), Kewaunee (437), Oconto (433) and Sevastopol (489).

Gibraltar’s Finn Salm carded the top individual score for the tournament at 83. Sturgeon Bay’s Tre Wienke was second at 85. There was a three-way tie for third at 87 between Kewaunee’s Evan Maccaux, Southern Door’s Finley LaVine and Sturgeon Bay Porter Rabach.

The other two Clipper golfers whose rounds counted toward the team score, Calvin Richard and Owen Pichette, tied for sixth at 89. Southern Door’s James Zittlow placed eighth with a 92.

Surgeon Bay topped the final team standings with 56 points (49 season-7 tourney), followed by Gibraltar’s 44 (38-6), Southern Door’s 43 (38-5), Peshtigo’s 23 (19-4), Oconto’s 22.5 (20.5-2) Kewaunee’s 20.5 (17.5-3) and Sevastopol’s 15 (14-1). NEW Lutheran didn’t have a minimum of four golfers to score in the team standings.

The All-Packerland first team, based on an overall score during league play, includes Maccaux being named the Player of the Year with a 327. The other five golfers on the first team include LaVine (331), Wienke (334), Salm (345), Oconto’s Carter Koch (350) and Sturgeon Bay’s Luke Selle (358).