Corn Promotion Board Seats Open

Corn growers in three Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board districts have until Jan. 17 to vote for new members to fill open seats on the board. Positions up for election are those representing Districts 3, 5 and 6. The District three race is contested (this district includes Door and Kewaunee counties).

Nominated in District 3 are W. Michael Slattery of Maribel and James E. Zimmerman of Rosendale.

Eligible corn growers in those districts may download ballots at Ballots may be scanned and returned by email or may be mailed. Mailed ballots must be postmarked on or before Jan. 17, 2015. Email ballots to [email protected] or mail them to Wisconsin DATCP, Market Orders Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708. If you have questions or need a ballot to be mailed, call DATCP’s Juli Speck at 608.224.5134.

Voters must be careful to complete and return both sides of the ballot. Ballots without both a vote and a signature will be invalid and will not be counted. Voters may choose to write in the names of eligible representatives in the district.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotions Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. Each year, three of the three-year terms expire on the nine-member corn promotions board.