County League Takes on Shoreland League in All-Star Battle

After a two-year hiatus, the best players of the Door County League and the Shoreland League will do battle once again Thursday, July 14, in an all-star game at Capital Credit Union Park, 2231 Holmgren Way in Ashwaubenon.

The Door County League has tried many all-star formats over the years. The best of the best at one time would take on the Green Bay Blue Ribbons, the American Legion team; or face off internally in a north-versus-south format. 

The concept got a jump start a few years ago when the league matched up against the Shoreland League. After a successful start, the pandemic put the brakes on the game until a new incarnation this year.

I attended a work function at Ashwaubenon’s Capital Credit Union Park, which opened in 2019 primarily as a soccer field. I thought, how cool would it be to play on this field? Then it hit me: Maybe we could rent it for one night for the Institute Cubs to play a Door County League game there. That thought went on the back burner until this spring, when the thought of reviving the all-star game at the park came forward, and, after nailing down the logistics, it came to fruition. 

The Egg Harbor Indians’ Corey Fuller (right front) scores July 1 at Baileys Harbor while As catcher Cal Ellefson (21) looks on behind home plate. Fuller and Nick Posh will represent Egg Harbor as part of the Door County League’s All-Star team, which will play an All-Star team from the Shoreland League on July 14 at Capital Credit Union Park in Ashwaubenon. Photo by Kevin Boneske.

So come on out July 14. Admission will be just $5, with kids 12 and younger getting in free. The Rockers staff will be running the concessions, and the two leagues will have a 50/50 raffle. 

Here’s who will be representing the Door County League in the game:

• Baileys Harbor: Isaac Berkley

• Sister Bay: Griffin Cole, Sam Forkert, Matt Hecht, Sawyer Johnson, Spencer Krause, Stewart Larson, Tom Sawyer 

• Washington Island: Caleb Cornell, Ben Geiger, Luke Geiger 

• Maplewood: Kordel Draves, Kody Kissinger, Drew Price

• Egg Harbor: Corey Fuller, Nick Posh 

• Kolberg: Trevor Hawkey, Nick LeCaptain, Trevor Reinhardt, Austen Rohe, Kyle Routhieux 

• West Jacksonport: Derek Niedzwiecki, Luke Steebs

• Institute: Kyle Ploor