Egg Harbor Among Communities Pursuing SolSmart Designation

The Midwest Renewable Energy Association (MREA) has begun advising 10 Wisconsin communities pursuing SolSmart designation in 2019. As each community’s SolSmart adviser, the MREA will work with the cities of La Crosse, Racine, Sheboygan, Stevens Point and Wauwatosa; Portage County; and the villages of Amherst, Egg Harbor and Plover to take actions that reduce solar soft costs and promote the use of solar locally.

SolSmart is a designation program developed by The Solar Foundation (TSF) to assist and recognize communities that act to cut red tape and improve local solar market conditions by making it faster, easier and more affordable to go solar in their jurisdictions. To date, 216 communities across America have become SolSmart designated.

As this area’s SolSmart adviser, the MREA works closely with municipal partners to advance solar photovoltaic (PV) in the state.

“As a partner, our goal is to assist each participating community in identifying opportunities to streamline their permitting and inspections processes, removing zoning barriers, and educating community members about the local economic benefits of solar PV, ” said Eric Rehm, SolSmart adviser.

To learn more, visit or contact the MREA. A portion of the community assistance provided by the MREA is made possible with funding from the Community Foundation of Central Wisconsin.