Elected Directors for Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board

Wisconsin’s corn growers have elected one new director and re-elected two directors to the industry’s market order board. Elected in District 5 is James Birchman, Fennimore. Re-elected in District 3 is James Zimmerman, Rosendale; and re-elected in District 6 is Howard Hartmann, Prairie du Sac. The three began serving three-year terms starting Feb. 1.
The three districts involved in the election represent the following counties:
District 3: Forest, Florence, Marinette, Langlade, Oconto, Shawano, Door, Outagamie, Brown, Kewaunee, Winnebago, Calumet, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac and Sheboygan counties.
District 5: La Crosse, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa and Lafayette counties.
District 6: Sauk and Dane counties.
The nine-member Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board is responsible for overseeing the collection and use of about $1.7 million in assessment fees paid by Wisconsin corn growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.