Ephraim Men’s Club Awards Scholarships to Gibraltar Graduates

(Left to right) Dick Volkmann, Clarissa Jauregui, Andrea Nelson, Rob Volpe, Marvin Oakes and Bill Schumann are preparing the pancakes for the Ephraim Men’s Club pancake breakfast.

The Ephraim Men’s Club awarded college scholarships to six 2013 graduates of Gibraltar High School.

Four-year awards go to Clarissa Jauregui of Fish Creek, Ainsley Nelson of Ephraim and Andrea Nelson of Sister Bay, while one-year awards go to Robert Volpe of Ephraim, Josephine Shabbit of Ephraim and Megan Swain of Fish Creek. Awards for the later years of college are contingent on academic performance.

Jauregui, Andrea and Volpe were on hand for the breakfast, greeting diners and serving pancakes. Since the breakfast’s inception half a century ago, it has raised more than $180,000 in scholarships to help students from Northern Door County attend college. Proceeds come from ticket sales and contributions from businesses, Ephraim residents and men’s club members.

The Ephraim Men’s Club, in existence since 1912, is believed to be Wisconsin’s oldest continuing not-for-profit organization. Its earliest effort was to raise money for Northern Door High School, which became Gibraltar High School. It also assisted the development of Peninsula State Park in the early years.