Hardy Announces “55th Annual Juried” Winners

The Hardy Gallery is pleased to announce the award recipients of the 55th Annual Juried Exhibit. Four individual artists were awarded financial merit awards for outstanding work, including First, Second, Third and People’s Choice Awards. In addition, four artists were awarded a Juror Award for exemplary work, selected independently by each juror. The winning artists are: First Place – “Early Morning Harbor” by D.K. Palecek; Second Place – “Seersucker” by Martha Coaty; Third Place – “Indoor Picnic” by Scott Leipski; and People’s Choice – “The Elusive Prairie Skunk” by Craig Johnson.

The recipients of a Juror Award include, “Hygge Trio” by Anne Hoesly, “Regatta Thrills” by Bruce Basch, “The Merchant” by Sarah Bradley, and “Foreboding” by Liesbeth Fickes.

Each year the Hardy Gallery invites practicing, established artists to make up the jury panel and determine the selection for the annual juried exhibit. This year’s jurors were Tom Berenz, assistant painting professor at UW-Parkside; Angela Lensch, owner and operator of Angela Lensch Gallery in Egg Harbor; Joseph Mougel, head of Photography at UW-Milwaukee; and Colleen Woolpert, photo and video professor at Western Michigan University.

Woolpert wrote in her juror’s statement, “My criteria was a high level of craft (confident technique regardless of media) and aesthetic value, while I also hoped to find layers of meaning. If an artwork was less technically accomplished but spoke to me on an emotional or intellectual level, it gained value in that regard.”

The 55th Annual Juried exhibit is now on view until July 16. The gallery will close at 3 pm on that day. Admission is free. The Hardy Gallery is located in the heart of Ephraim’s historic district on Anderson Dock (3083 Anderson Lane). For more information, call 920.854.2210 or visit

Related Organizations

Article Comments