Herb Kohl Foundation Scholarships Announced

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Program has announced recipients of the 2018 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers and principals. Awards in the amount of $6,000 are being made to 100 teachers, 16 principals, and their schools, and $10,000 scholarships will be given to 191 graduating high school students.

Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

Lamyra Adams, a Sevastopol High School senior, was the only area winner of the Excellence Scholarship.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESAs), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Parents Association.

Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

Two area students are Initiative Scholarship recipients – Brandy Miettinen of Sturgeon Bay High School and Raymond Shaw of Algoma High School.

“Herb Kohl, through his philanthropy on behalf of our educators and students, has provided opportunity and access to a better future for countless Wisconsinites,” said State Superintendent Tony Evers.

Letters notifying recipients of the award were mailed by the Herb Kohl Foundation on March 16. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in a few weeks. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients.

Article Comments