Many Unopposed in Door County’s Spring 2017 Elections

Family issues have caused Sturgeon Bay Alderman Will Gregory not to seek re-election in the spring.

Gregory, who won as a write-in candidate in April 2015, considered himself the “loyal opposition,” along with Alderwoman Kelly Catarozoli, who was also elected in the spring of 2015 amidst what many perceived as a “good old boy” common council that approved a hotel project for the city’s westside waterfront project. Gregory and Catarozoli often found themselves voting in the minority in the past two years.

“Kelly is truly an asset to this town and we became very, very good friends during this period,” Gregory said. “We brought a lot of things to the forefront that might just have been glossed over.”

Despite being in the minority for many issues, Gregory said it was a wonderful learning experience.

“I just want to thank people in my district for supporting me,” he said. “There’s a groundswell of support in the community for a change in direction. I spent a lot of time canvassing, especially in the November election. People aren’t happy, especially with the dirt piles downtown between the two bridges. That is a really a crown jewel of the city, and I probably got more questions on that than any other issues combined. It’s really tragic that we’ve gotten to the point where we’re at.”

Joe McMahon and Laurel Hauser will run for Gregory’s District 7 seat. The deadline for candidacy expired at 5 pm on Jan. 3.

Aldermen Jerry Stults (District 5) also filed non-candidacy papers. Judy Dobbins and Brian Peterson filed papers to run for Stults’ seat,

In Catarozoli’s District 1, former 10-year Alderman Dan Wiegand will again face Catarozoli.

In District 3, incumbent David Ward is running unopposed.

Judge David L. Weber is running unopposed in the April election for the Door County Circuit Court Branch 2 post he was appointed to last June to replace retired Judge Peter Diltz.

Also running unopposed is state Supreme Court Judge Annette Ziegler, who was first elected to the office in 2007.

State Superintendent of Public instruction Tony Evers will face off against two challengers in the Feb. 21 primary. He is being challenged by Lowell E. Holtz, former superintendent of Beloit School District, and John Humphries, former administrator of Dodgeville School District.

On Washington Island, Town Chair Jim Hanson filed non-candidacy papers. Supervisor John Rader filed his candidacy to replace Hanson. Four other candidates have filed for two openings on the town board, including incumbent Supervisor Randy Sorensen, Larry Kahlscheuer, Peter Nehlsen and Ron Overdahl.

In the Town of Gibraltar, Town Chair Richard Skare is being challenged for the chairmanship by Supervisor Brian Merkel, who is also running for his supervisor position, along with incumbent Steve Sohns and Dwayne Daubner.

In the Town of Sevastopol, former town clerk and current county board Supervisor Linda Wait is running for supervisor, along with incumbents John Staveness and Tony Haen. Supervisor Dan Woelfel has taken out papers for town chair after current Chair Leo Zipperer filed non-candidacy papers.

In the Village of Egg Harbor, Trustee Paula Cashin filed her non-candidacy papers. Running for that seat are former Trustee Cambria Mueller and Angela Lensch. Trustee Bob Dickson and President Joe Smith have also taken out papers to retain their positions.

In Baileys Harbor, Don Sitte is running for chair unopposed, as is Mark Merrill for Constable. Incumbent town board members Roberta Thelen and Peter Jacobs are running for supervisor. Walter Vail and Andy Stimers have also filed their papers for supervisor.

Three three-year-term seats are open on the Southern Door School Board, with four people vying for them, including incumbents Pamela Parks and Kim Starr, and Christopher Jackson and Kim Nowikowski.


Town of Brussels: Joe Wautier, chair; Mark Marchant, Supervisor 1; Joel Daoust, Supervisor 2; Lois Maedke, Treasurer; JoAnn Neinas, Clerk; Matthew Phillips, Constable.

Town of Egg Harbor: Paul Peterson, chair; Dale Wiegand, Supervisor 1; Myles Dannhausen Sr., Supervisor 2.

Town of Forestville: Roy Englebert, chair; Supervisors Larry Huber and Jason E. Tlachac; Clerk Ruth Kerscher; Treasurer Dena Schmidt.

Town of Jacksonport: Randy Halstead, chair; Tim Bley, Supervisor 1; Tom Wilson, Supervisor 2.

Town of Liberty Grove: John Lowry, chair; Nancy Goss and Gary Farber, Supervisor.

Town of Sturgeon Bay: Daniel Cihlar, chair; Carol Schuster, Supervisor 1; Paul Skup, Supervisor 2; Lynne Gustafson, Treasurer; Nancy Anschutz, Clerk.

Village of Ephraim: Mike McCutcheon, President; Jim Stollenwerk and Cindy Nelson, Trustees.

Article Comments