Mariner and Coast Guard Awards Aug. 7

The public is invited to join the Door County Maritime Museum (DCMM), Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club (SBYC) and the Sturgeon Bay Coast Guard Committee in honoring all nominees for the Mariner Award and the Sturgeon Bay Area Coast Guard Person of the Year. The award presentation dinner takes place Aug. 7 at the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club. Social hour begins at 5:30 pm followed by the awards dinner at 6:30 pm.

The Mariner Award recognizes individuals who have had a significant positive and lasting impact on the Door County maritime community. The living nominees for the 2018 Mariner Award are Martha Burress, Dennis Hickey, Bill Parsons, Ken Schmidke, William “Curly” Selvick, Leathem “Tim” Stearn, Todd Thayse, Joel & Mary Ann Blahnik and Bill Schoendorf. Nominees in the posthumous award category are Clifford B. Hart, Ingar Olsen, George K. Pinney, John Thenell, Arthur Zuehlke, Increase Claflin, Col. John Miller, W.F. Wickman and Asa Thorpe.

The Coast Guard Person of the Year award recognizes a local active duty Coast Guardsman who exemplifies the Coast Guard’s core values of Honor, Respect and Devotion to Duty. This year’s nominees are Chief Warrant Officer Gregory Tarker, USCGC Mobile Bay, Marine Science Technician 1st Class Harold Rissman, USCG Marine Safety Detachment, and Petty Officer Robert Walsh, Coast Guard Canal Station Sturgeon Bay.

The dinner is $43 and reservations are required. Call 920.743.5958 no later than July 30 to make reservations. For more information visit

Article Comments