Miller Art Museum Announces 43rd Juried Annual Winners

The Miller Art Museum (MAM) announces the award winners from the 43rd Juried Annual Exhibit.

Every year the Miller Art Museum invites artists 18 years of age and older to submit up to two works in two-dimensional media for consideration in this exhibit. Artists from Door County and the surrounding five counties (Sheboygan, Brown, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Oconto) are invited to submit works.

Exhibiting artists are Gail Ann Anderson, Sharon Auberle, Rick Brawner, Donna Brown, Janine Buechner, W. Joseph Christiansen, Martha Coaty, Luke Collins, Sharon Delvoye, Joan Emmett, Pam Flanders, Tom Friese, Faith Frykman, Richard A. Geudtner, Mitchel Heinrichs, Susan Hoffman, Frances Holt, Thomas Jordan, J Jorns, Matt Kapinos, Andrea Kinsey-Jauquet, Brigitte Kozma, Stephanie Lord, Elizabeth Maltman, Mara Manning, Sandra Martinez, Steven Monske, Rolf Olson, Brian Pier, Brian Pirman, Melissa Resch, Susan Reynolds- Smith, Kim Rosploch, Dianne Saron, Marilyn Stasiak, Hermke Timm, Patricia A. Williams and Laura Witt.

“Over 100 artists submitted works for consideration in this year’s exhibition,” said Elizabeth Shoshany Anderson, curator of exhibitions and collections at the museum. “And of those artists, 38 were selected, exhibiting 48 works total.”

The Juror’s Choice Awards, $200 each, went to Joan Emmett for her digital collage “Great Uncle Logos,” Tom Friese’s oil and cold-wax painting “Flyover Series: Mediterranean Meets the Sahara” and the acrylic mixed-media painting “The Walk Home” by Sandra Martinez.

Merit Awards, $250 each, were awarded to Gail Ann Anderson for her oil painting “Stop, Stop!,” Sharon Auberle for her digital photograph “Another Wall” and Mara Manning for her oil and cold-wax painting “Subtle Changes.”

The Gerhard Miller Award for Excellence, a $500 cash prize and a commemorative medallion, was awarded to Matt Kapinos for his watercolor painting “Obsolescence.” The final award was the Bonnie Hartmann Award for Outstanding Creativity, which includes $100 and inscription on the gallery’s commemorative plaque. The award went to Laura Witt for her sumi-e ink drawing “Untitled.”

The exhibit runs through Dec. 22. The museum is located within the Door County Library at 107 S. Fourth Avenue, Sturgeon Bay. Admission is free. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or visit

Related Organizations

Article Comments