Miller Art Museum Announces ’46th Juried Annual’ Winners

On Sept. 25, the Miller Art Museum in Sturgeon Bay unveiled its 46th Juried Annual – a survey and celebration of contemporary work by Wisconsin visual artists – during a scaled-back, in-person reception when eight regional visual artists were recognized for the excellence, originality and experimental nature of their work. 

“Eye Has Not Seen What God Has Prepared” by Blanche Brown.
“The Price of Progress” by Randall Dettmann.
“George Floyd” by Brad Krause.
“Rustic Red” by Stephanie Lord.
“Europe Bay” by Tim Nyberg.
“Hear, no evil. See, no evil. Speak, no evil” by Dane Schumacher.
“Ace of Hearts” by Tracy Wiklund.
“All Wrong Hours” by Sara Willadsen.

Blanche Brown of Milwaukee earned the Bonnie Hartmann Award for Outstanding Creativity for “Eye Has Not Seen What God Has Prepared.”

These artists received a Special Merit Award: Randall Dettmann of Algoma for “The Price of Progress,” Brad Krause of Milwaukee for “George Floyd,” and Tim Nyberg of Egg Harbor for “Europe Bay.”

These artists received a Juror’s Choice Award: Stephanie Lord of Sturgeon Bay for “Rustic Red,” Tracy Wiklund of McFarland for “Ace of Hearts,” and Sara Willadsen of Sheboygan for “All Wrong Hours.”

And the Gerhard CF Miller Award of Excellence went to Dane Schumacher of Green Bay for “Hear, no evil. See, no evil. Speak, no evil.”The 46th Juried Annual showcases more than 70 works, evaluated by a three-person jury, and it marks the first year when artists from across the state were eligible to submit work. See the increased number of works in both lower-level main galleries and on the second-floor Ruth Morton Miller Mezzanine at the Miller Art Museum, 107 S. 4th Ave. in Sturgeon Bay. The exhibit will run through Nov. 8.

Related Organizations