Miller Art Museum Expands Door Prize for Portraiture

From June 4 – July 26, the Miller Art Museum in Sturgeon Bay will feature 53 Wisconsin artists and their unique approaches to the portrait as it hosts the 7th annual Door Prize for Portraiture.

The exhibit opens June 4 with an opening reception from 5:30 to 7:30 pm; the event is free and open to the general public. Juror Alison Stehlik, Associate Professor of Art at University of Wisconsin – Green Bay, will present Best of Show and Honorable Mention awards at 6:30 pm.

Portraiture is an artist’s representation of a real person. Many artists create self-portraits and portraits of family members and friends as part of the discipline and challenge of developing their skills.

“There are as many ways to approach the subject as there are individual artists,” explains Miller Art Museum Curator of Exhibitions and Collections Deborah Rosenthal. “A number of exhibiting artists do regularly create portraits, however the majority work mostly with other subjects.”

Freelance curator Cheryl Stidwell Parker and Rosenthal worked together to invite notable and emerging artists from northeastern Wisconsin and across the state to participate in this year’s expanded exhibit. The painting medium used most by the participants is oil, however there is also a wide variety of other two-dimensional media including acrylic, egg tempera, gouache, watercolor, graphite, ink, conté, photography, etching, oil pastel, digital, and mixed media collage. Glass artist Jeremy Popelka created a sculptural piece for the exhibition.

Door County exhibiting artists are: Julia VanRoo Bresnahan, Donna Brown, Jan Comstock, Rob Comstock, Ed Fenendael, Cheryl Stidwell Parker, Deborah Dendler, David A. Franke, Michael Nitsch, Charles L. Peterson, Suzanne Rose, Rick Brawner, Sally Everhardus, Emmett Johns, Mynn Lanphier, Liz Maltman, Cynthia Wolfe, Sharon Auberle, Craig Blietz, Ralph Murre, Tom Seagard, Ernest Beutel, Cal Bonnivier, Dennis M. Connolly, Marty Gerber, Lynn Gilchrist, Joseph Kaftan, Colleen McCarty, Audrey M. Off, Jeremy Popelka, Randall Rasmussen, Rick Jay Risch, Hermke Timm, Stephanie Trenchard, Mary White and Archelle “Buttons” Wolst.

The exhibit will be on display through July 26 at 5 pm. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or visit

Related Organizations

Article Comments