Miller Art Museum Presents “42nd Juried Annual”

The Miller Art Museum is pleased to present its 42nd Juried Annual exhibition, curated by Dan Cross (Egg Harbor), Joye Moon (Oshkosh) and Leslie Walfish (Oshkosh). The exhibition is scheduled to open Sept. 9. In celebration, a free public reception for exhibiting artists, their guests, and the public is scheduled for Sept. 9, 5 – 6:30 pm. A total of eight cash awards will be announced at 5:30 pm.

Each year the Miller Art Museum invites artists 18 years and older to submit up to two works in two-dimensional media for this competitive exhibit. This year the eligible geographic area of artist residency was expanded south to include Sheboygan County in addition to Door, Brown, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, and Oconto. The panel of jurors, which varies each year and results in a unique selection for each cycle of the show, spent a full day reviewing submissions.

When asked to describe the process, Walfish reflected upon the process. She said, “We were often drawn to the same pieces – pieces that imparted feelings in the viewer, that had something to say, pieces that set a mood, or transported us.” Moon described the level of competition as “very steep” and that the qualities of entries were of an “exceptionally high caliber.”

More than 90 artists submitted nearly 170 submissions; this year’s exhibition will feature the work of 42 local and regional artists and will include 47 paintings, drawings, photographs, pastels, digital imagery and mixed media works.

As is typically the case for the Juried Annual, entries reflect the wide range of styles and techniques of artistic expression found in northeast Wisconsin. The works in the exhibit are equally unique expressions of artists investigating the world around them and creating their own personal environments including abstract imagery, landscape and the human figure.

Exhibit artists are Mitch Leavitt, Jim Rossol, Arlene Stanger, Steven Stanger, Tom DeMint, Steven Monske, Jeffery Olson, Brian Pier, Mary Ann Logic, Anthony Beadell, Rick Brawner, Mara Manning, Sandra Martinez, W. Joseph Christiansen, Martha Coaty, Luke Collins, Richard A. Geudtner, Roxanne Hanney, Frances Holt, Thomas Jordan, Christy Kelly-Bentgen, Cody LaCrosse, Katy Moore, Rolf Olson, Melissa Resch, Mac Schueppert, Jamaica Schroedl, Hermke Timm, Kerry Vavra, Laura Witt, Patricia Derozier, Tom Friese, Tonya Kehler, Brian Pirman, Patrick Kennedy, Patricia Williams, Thomas Ferguson, Evie Grasse, Robert Hoopman, Randall Dettman, Stephanie Holznecht and David Heilman.

The exhibit continues through Oct. 30. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or visit

Related Organizations

Article Comments