Municipal News

City of Sturgeon Bay:  The Finance/Purchasing & Building Committees meet at 4 pm on June 30. The Plan Commission meets at 7 pm on July 1.

County of Door:  The Airport & Parks Committee meets at Cherryland Airport at 9 am on July 1. The Property Committee meets at 1 pm on July 1.

Town of Baileys Harbor:  On June 17, the town held a special meeting to discuss the application it is submitting to be considered for a three-day visit by the Minnesota Design Team, a group of volunteer planning experts organized by the University of Wisconsin-Extension. In order to secure the visit, the town has to pay $5,000 and find homes for the team members to stay while in Baileys Harbor, but the result is $100,000 to $200,000 in professional small town planning. The town is shooting for a visit in early November. For more information on the Minnesota Design Team, visit To get involved, contact Brynn Swanson at Baileys Harbor Community Association, 920.839.2366.

Town of Clay Banks:  The deadline is June 30 for advance registration to have your water tested by the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Center for Watershed Science and Education. Registered participants must pick up their test bottle sometime during the week of July 13 – 18. At that time, you can decide on your choice of test package and pay in advance. On Sunday, July 19th, participants will be required to bring the sample to the drop-off site during the specified hours. Individual test results will be mailed to you approximately four weeks after submitting your sample. You will also have an opportunity to attend an educational program scheduled for Monday, Aug. 31, at the Forestville Town Hall in Maplewood. At that meeting University water quality specialists will discuss how to interpret results and talk about overall water quality. As well as Clay Banks, the testing is also available to residents of Forestville and Nasewaupee. Interested residents should contact their municipal representative for registration. For Clay Banks it is Town Clerk Jessica Bongle, 920.493.7383; Town of Forestville, Treasurer Dena Schmidt, 920.493.3064 or 920.856.6891; Village of Forestville, Village Clerk Mary Ann Salmon, 920.366.3640; Town of Nasewaupee, Town Chair Steve Sullivan, 920.743.9391.

Town of Liberty Grove:  The town board meets at 7 pm on July 1.

Village of Egg Harbor:  The Parks and Public Works Committee meets at 8:30 am on July 1.

Village of Sister Bay:  The Parks Committee meets at 2:15 pm on July 1.