Packerland Conference Announces Scholar Athletes

The Packerland Conference announced its 2019-20 Scholar Athlete Awards. Each honoree must be a second-semester senior, hold a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0, and have earned at least four varsity letters through athletic participation. Principals at each school are allowed to nominate two boys and two girls for the awards. 


Boys: Benjamin Fahrenkrug and Chase Peronto

Girls: Jenny Farley and Melissa Srnka


Boys: Brady Ash and Ben Fitzgerald

Girls: Kayla Scharrig and Bella Bunda


Boys: Tanor Bortolini and Ryan Carmichael 

Girls: Katherine Metzler and Mackenzie Tlachac


Boys: Caden Kacmarynski and Evan Lardinois

Girls: Kailee Moe and Mya Ploor

Southern Door

Boys: Brock Aune and Sam Dean

Girls: Jacqlyn Atkins and Kendra Dantoin

Sturgeon Bay

Boys: Adison Benzinger and Jake Schneider

Girls: Katie Frank and Marina Jeanquart

Principals may also nominate scholar athletes who meet additional criteria for the Packerland Conference Outstanding Achievement Award. Athletes must have competed as a three-sport athlete for their junior and senior years, earned a minimum of seven athletic letters and maintained a minimum 3.9 cumulative grade point average compiled in accordance with the WIAA Scholar Athlete formula.

Only seven athletes met the criteria: Kewaunee’s Tanor Bortolini, Maxwell Hanrahan, Owen Kudick and Hailey Gaedtke; Sturgeon Bay’s Sarah Bridenhagen; and Green Bay NEW Lutheran’s Zachary Luepke and Lydia Nelson.

Brock Aune. Swim Team practice at the Sturgeon Bay YMCA. Photo by Len Villano.