Packerland Conference Names Scholar, Achievement Award Winners for 2023-24

The Packerland Conference has announced its scholar athlete and outstanding achievement award recipients for the 2023-24 school year.

High school principals at the conference schools were able to select up to four seniors – two boys and two girls – as Packerland scholar athletes.

Student athletes, cheerleaders, pom/dance squad members, student trainers and managers may be selected. The selection criteria included having a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale compiled in accordance with the WIAA scholar-athlete formula.

The scholar athlete award winners from Door County’s schools in the Packerland include:

• Gibraltar – boys, Marshall Maltby and Braden Sitte; and girls, Quincy Chomeau and Helen McCormack.

• Sevastopol – boys, Alex Andreae and Oliver Mathews; and girls, Sam Herrell and Cassie Rankin.

• Southern Door – boy, Spencer Slezewski; and girls, MaKenna Geyer and Danica Neville.

• Sturgeon Bay – boys, Gannon Evers and Calvin Richard; and girls, Natalia Michalski and Jade Tomberlin.

Sevastopol’s Libby Ash (11), who participated in girls basketball, softball and cross country during high school, received the Packerland Conference’s outstanding achievement award for 2023-24. File photo by Kevin Boneske.

Scholar athletes who met additional criteria, which include maintaining a minimum 3.9 GPA, competing as a three-sport athlete their junior and senior years and earning a minimum of seven athletic letters – though exceptions for major injury may be granted for the latter two – were eligible for outstanding achievement awards.

Sevastopol’s outstanding achievement award winners include two boys – Ezra Linnan and Frankie de Young – and two girls – Libby Ash and Kylee Duessler.

The two boys from Sturgeon Bay receiving outstanding achievement awards are Evers and Garrett Ulberg.

A boy from Southern Door, Thomas Jackson, also received an outstanding achievement award.