Primary Narrows April Races

The towns of Liberty Grove and Washington Island narrowed races for local office in primary voting Feb. 17.

Charlie Most Jr. and John Lowry rose to the top of six candidates for Liberty Grove Town Chairman. The two will be on the ballot April 7 when town voters make their final decision.

Frank Forkert, Nancy Goss, Ann Miller and Regina Thorn all put their hats in the ring for chair, but only the top two vote getters move on to the general election.

Jill Karkau was eliminated from the race for Liberty Grove Town Supervisor, leaving four candidates for two seats. Kim Maedke-Shumway, Nancy Goss, Frank Forkert, and MaryKay Shumway will vie for the seats April 7.

On Washington Island Timothy Jessen won the right to be on the general election ballot, but Ron Overdahl and Carol Stayton tied for second. Door County Clerk Jill Lau said canvassing was slated for Thursday to certify the results. If the results remain as initially reported, Jessen’s competition would be decided by a coin flip. The results of that will be posted on

Liberty Grove Town Chairman

Charlie Most Jr. – 181 (34.02%)

John Lowry – 146 (27.44%)

Nancy Goss – 91 (17.11%)

Frank Forkert – 80 (15.04%)

Regina Thorn – 18 (3.38%)

Ann Miller – 16 (3.01%)

Liberty Grove Town Supervisor

Frank Forkert – 262 (29.08%)

Nancy Goss – 238 (26.42%)

Kim Maedke-Shumway – 166 (18.42%)

MaryKay Shumway – 161 (17.87%)

Jill Karkau – 73 (8.10%)

Washington Island Town Supervisor

Timothy Jessen – 127 (41.10%)

Ron Overdahl – 91 (29.45%)

Carol Stayton – 91 (29.45%)