Ribble, Walker, Vogel Big Winners in Primary




Roofing contractor Reid Ribble easily won a three-way battle for the Republican nomination in the 8th Congressional District Sept. 14, highlighting a night of few surprises in the charge to November’s general election.




Two-term incumbent Terry Vogel staved off a challenge from Bill Larson for the Republican nomination for Door County sheriff. As expected, Ron Johnson advanced to battle Russ Feingold for Feingold’s U.S. Senate seat, and Milwaukee County Executive Scott Walker bested former U.S. Congressman Mark Neumann in the governor’s race.




Frank Lasee’s name recognition carried him past Dave Hutchison and Jon Soyring for the nod to battle Dr. Monk Elmer for the 1st Senate District seat. The seat is being vacated by Lasee’s cousin, Alan Lasee, in November.


See how the votes came in here.




Election Results




Winners in bold








Winner faces Democrat Will Oakley




• Republican




Terry Vogel, 3,004; 63.94%




Bill Larson, 1,688; 35.93%








– 1st Senate District




Winner faces Dr. Monk Elmer (D – Kimberly)




• Republican




Frank Lasee, 57%




Jon Soyring, 8%




Dave Hutchison, 35%




– Governor




• Democrat




Tom Barrett, 90%




Tim John, 10%




• Republican




Mark W. Neumann, 39%




Scott Walker, 59%








– U.S. Senate




• Republican




Dave Westlake, 11%




Ron Johnson, 84%




– 8th Congressional District




Winner faces incumbent Steve Kagen (D–Appleton)




• Republican




Terri McCormick, 18%




Roger Roth, 32%




Marc Savard, 3%




Reid Ribble, 48%