Salon of Door County High School Art Winners

The award recipients of the 49th Salon of Door County High School Art at the Miller Art Museum in Sturgeon Bay were announced during an April 17 reception. The exhibit, featuring work by students in all five Door County schools, is on display through May 27.

Awards of Excellence, which include a $100 cash prize, went to Lilly Cihlar, Sturgeon Bay; Victoria Fiscus, Sevastopol; Joseph Lux, Washington Island; Emily Purdy, Southern Door; and Gwendolyn Sohns, Gibraltar.

Six $50 Honorable Mention awards were presented to Dasia Daubner, Gibraltar; Rayna Hoffman, Sturgeon Bay; Anna Ibarra-Gallardo, Sevastopol; Dezaray LeRoy, Southern Door; and Rita Valentincic, Washington Island.

Through a financial gift from the Cramer Family Fund, the museum also provided awardees with certificates for art supplies from the Artists Guild in Sturgeon Bay and instruction to further their endeavors through workshops at Peninsula School of Art in Fish Creek.

(From left) Elizabeth Meissner-Gigstead, Miller Art Museum executive director; with Amolia Jefferson, the inaugural Mr. Rericha Legacy Award recipient. Submitted.

The Miller Art Museum’s executive director, Elizabeth Meissner-Gigstead, presented Sevastopol High School sophomore Amolia Jefferson with the Mr. Rericha Legacy Award, a $100 cash prize, for her work “Hot Buttered Toast.” Rericha was a longtime art teacher and theater director at Sevastopol who died in September 2022, and an anonymous financial gift made the establishment of the award possible. 

In addition to the student awards, the museum also presented monetary awards to each high school art department, made possible through gifts from the Cramer Family Fund and DCAL.

Related Organizations