Sister Bay Lions Celebrate 60th Anniversary

(Left to right) Lion Clyde Casperson, the first charter Club President, sits beside the 60th (and current) Club President, Joe Burris, at the 60th Anniversary dinner.

On Sept. 10 the Sister Bay Lions celebrated their 60th Anniversary at the Sister Bay Bowl (the established meeting place since 1952). Awards, including the Birch-Sturm and Melvin Jones Fellowships, were presented at the annual dinner.

The Birch-Sturm Fellowship award was presented to Butch Jacques, Al Strack, Lee Lhost, Al Celusta, Tony Anheuser, Tom Sadler, District Governor Earl Guinther, Treasurer Dennis Paschke and Bill Henning. This award was created by the Wisconsin Lions Foundation to honor individuals exemplifying undying dedication and commitment to Lionism.

The Melvin Jones Fellowship Award was presented to Clint Robinson. The Fellowship Award is the highest form of recognition; the recipient becomes a model of exemplary service to his club and community.