Six to Vie for Liberty Grove Chair

Liberty Grove voters will have an unfamiliar problem this April – a glut of choices for town government.

In most years local governments have to scrape and even beg just to get enough candidates to fill the ballot. But six candidates have turned in papers to run for the town chairman’s post in Liberty Grove being vacated by Bill Casey. Five candidates are also running for two town supervisor positions.

Here are the candidates for local government that will be on the April 7 ballot. Attempts to get candidates from the Village of Forestville and the towns of Clay Banks, and Sturgeon Bay were unsuccessful when we went to press Thursday. They will be posted at as soon as we get them.

• Towns

Baileys Harbor

Incumbent chairman James Parent unopposed. Incumbent treasurer Lois Pluff and constable Mark Merill unopposed, and incumbent supervisors Dale Williams and Peter Jacobs face Donald Sitte for two supervisor seats.


All incumbents are running unopposed. Chairman George Delveaux Jr., Supervisors Joe Wautier and Galen DeJardin, Clerk JoAnn Neinas, treasurer Lois Maedke and constable Jarod Parks.

Town of Egg Harbor

Incumbent Chairman Paul Peterson, clerk Pam Krauel, and supervisor Robert Mueller are unopposed. Incumbent supervisor Kurt Krauel is challenged by Dan Kiehnau.

Town of Forestville

All incumbents are running unopposed. Chairman Edson Stevens, supervisors Miles Zastrow and Gerald Uecker, clerk Ruth Kerscher and treasurer Dena Schmidt.


Incumbent chairman Paul DeWitt is challenged by Mark Stevenson and constable James Kluth is challenged by Rob Ahlswede. Incumbent supervisors Robert Braunel and Gary Schaeffer running uncontested for two seats and incumbent treasurer Pauline Cyrus running uncontested.


Incumbent chairman Merrell Runquist and incumbent supervisors Dick Skare and Steve Sohns running unopposed.


Aaron LeClair running unopposed for the chairman’s post vacated by George Bagnall and incumbent supervisor Jeanne Majeski and Randall Halstead running unopposed for two supervisor seats. Incumbent treasurer Carol Oram and incumbent clerk Eileen Phetteplace running unopposed.

Liberty Grove

John Lowry, Frank Forkert, Regina Thorn, Nancy Goss, Ann Miller and Charlie Most Jr. for the chairman’s seat vacated by Bill Casey.

Incumbent supervisor Nancy Goss is running with Kim Maedke-Shumway, Frank Forkert, Jill Karkau, and Mary Kay Shumway for two supervisor seats. Incumbent Jon Jensen is not seeking re-election.

A Feb. 17 primary will narrow the chairman’s race to two candidates. Should Forkert or Goss be chosen as candidates for the chair, they will choose whether to run for supervisor or chairman April 7.


Incumbent chairman Steven Sullivan and supervisor Tim O’Connor are running unopposed. Incumbent supervisor George Whitford is opposed by Ken Knuth. Bev Borring and Brenda Olsen face off in the race for the clerk position being vacated by Jill Lau. Incumbent treasurer Carol Russell and constable Al Borring are running unopposed.


Incumbent chairman Leo Zipperer and incumbent supervisors Tom Girman and John Staveness running unopposed.


None of Unions incumbents will be challenged. Chairman Cletus Fontaine, supervisors Jon Bur and Ron Renard, clerk Rena LaLuzerne and treasurer Denise Englebert are running unopposed.

Washington Island

Incumbent Timothy Jessen is challenged by Ron Overdahl and Carol Stayton for chair. Incumbent Randy Sorensen faces Terri Moore and Jerry Rupiper in a race for two supervisor seats.

• Villages

Village of Egg Harbor

Incumbent President Nancy Fisher unopposed. Incumbent trustee Robert Dickson and Barbara Cammack unopposed for two trustee seats. Herb Mueller will not seek re-election, as he will move out of the village.


Incumbent president John Cox is challenged by Diane Kirkland. Incumbent trustees Sue Sherman and Jane Olson will be challenged by Paul Burton for two seats.

Sister Bay

Incumbent president Denise Bhirdo unopposed. Incumbents Ken Church and Andrew Nocker will run unopposed with John Clove for three trustee seats.

City of Sturgeon Bay

Incumbent District 1 councilman Ben Meyer is challenged by Dan Wiegand and incumbent District 3 councilman James Michaud is challenged by John Lodl. Incumbent councilmen Stephen Mann (District 5) and Thad Birmingham (District 7) are running unopposed.

• School Boards

Gibraltar School Board

Incumbents Miriam Erickson and Martha Luber Pelrine are joined by Wendy Minten, Brian Ferrie, Paul Larsen and Lynnea Hickey in a race for three seats. Mark Weborg is not seeking re-election.

Sevastopol School Board

Incumbents Sue Todey and Lisa Bieri will run uncontested with William Behme for three seats. Mike Kaye is not seeking re-election.

Southern Door School Board

Incumbent Lori Sampo and Dawn Routhieaux uncontested for two seats. Lisa Mraz is not seeking re-election.

Sturgeon Bay School Board

Incumbents Julie Hathaway, Keith Miller and Lori Raye uncontested for three seats.

Washington Island School Board

Incumbents Dan Nelson and Joan Hansen are joined by Joan Kuhn in a race for two seats.