Southern Door Breaks Packerland Conference Record

A new Packerland Conference record of 29 consecutive conference wins was achieved by the Southern Door Eagles boys’ varsity basketball team when they beat Oconto 68-53 this week. In honor of this, the district will recognize the Southern Door 1983-84 and 1984-85 varsity boys’ basketball teams that won 28 straight Packerland Conference games and held the previous record. All players, coaches, managers and cheerleaders from those 1980s teams are invited to Southern Door’s Dec. 14 game against Peshtigo to be honored alongside the current team. Players of the dominant 1980s teams were Greg Dantoin, Paul Antonissen, Scott Mauer, Dan Dantoin, Don Birmingham, Jeff DeJardin, Pete Claflin, Chris Delarwelle, Mike Price, Rob Conlon, Marty Marchant, Mark LeCaptain, Joe Pierre, Dean Seigworth, Steve Bretl, Mike Barker, Cory Lardinois, Kevin Brauer, Ken Dantoin, and head coach Bob Kinziger and assistant coach Jim Zellmer. The entire community is invited to come out and join in this special event to honor Southern Door’s basketball alumni and cheer on this year’s team.

Article Comments