Spring All-Packerland Conference Teams Named

Commissioner Mike Holtz has announced this spring’s All-Packerland Conference teams.

Peterson Is Baseball Player of the Year

This year’s baseball All-Conference selections include Southern Door junior infielder Jack Peterson being named Player of the Year. Peterson – a unanimous All-Conference, first-team selection – helped the Eagles win their second consecutive Packerland title with a perfect 8-0 record and also led the conference in batting with a .710 average.

Joining Peterson on the first team from Southern Door are freshman pitcher Tyler Neinas, senior infielder Charlie Neinas and junior outfielder Christian Counard – another unanimous All-Conference selection with the Packerland’s second-highest batting average at .538.

Gibraltar/Washington Island senior infielder Sam Lindenberg also made the first team.

Second-team All-Conference selections from Door County schools include freshman catcher Brady Kita and junior outfielder Ryan Caldecott of Gibraltar/Washington Island; senior infielder Jack de Young of Sevastopol; junior outfielder Jaden Diller and senior utility player Logan Jeanquart of Southern Door; and sophomore catcher Curt Meyer and junior infielder Emmett Braschnewitz of Sturgeon Bay.

Players named honorable mention include senior infielder Cooper Cole of Gibraltar/Washington Island; senior outfielder Carter Bieri and senior utility player Frankie Ash of Sevastopol; freshman pitcher Drew Daoust of Southern Door; and senior pitcher Jace Johnson and senior outfielder Braeden Haines of Sturgeon Bay.

Three First-Team Sevastopol Softball Players

Sevastopol’s softball team, which advanced to the WIAA Division 5 sectional finals after finishing 6-2 in the Packerland – two games behind conference champion Oconto – placed three players on the first team: junior infielder Bailey Rikkola, sophomore outfielder Jolene Luedtke and freshman Kayla Ranly.

Ranly finished second in the conference with a batting average of .526.

Southern Door sophomore outfielder Sophia Counard was also named to the first team.

Second-team, All-Conference selections from the county’s schools include senior catcher Samantha Differt and freshman infielder Naomi Rikkola of Sevastopol, and junior infielder Chloe Lustila of Southern Door.

Players named honorable mention include sophomore pitcher Libby Ash and senior infielder Kristen Daubner of Sevastopol; and freshman pitcher Ashlyn Delfosse, junior catcher Colbi Jacquet, junior infielder Greta Gutschow and junior outfielder Tori Marchant, all of Southern Door.

Starr First-Team Girls Soccer Goalkeeper

Sturgeon Bay senior goalkeeper Drew Starr was named to the conference’s first team in girls soccer.

The Clippers, who finished Packerland play with a conference record of 4-2-1, also had one player on the second team: senior midfielder Emma Reichel.

Boys Golf All-Conference

Three of the six conference first-team boys golfers were from county schools: Sturgeon Bay junior Issak Aune and Southern Door senior Jacob Norton and freshman Finley LaVine.

The Clippers finished second in the final conference team standings with 16 points – 3.5 points behind Packerland champion Oconto – while the Eagles came in fourth with 12 points.