Strivers Gymnasts Win Gold at Nationals

Twelve Door County YMCA Striver gymnasts qualified and made the journey to the SeaGate Convention Center in Toledo, Ohio, for the 2018 YMCA National Gymnastics Championships. The event featured 2,400 gymnasts from 105 YMCAs across the United States all competing for titles.

Strivers included Bristol Will, Lauren Pratt and Sophia Sternard in Level 2; Daylia Sund and Tiani LeMieux in Level 4; Desirae Guilette in Xcel Silver; Chloe Macaux, Laci Lautenbach, Mallory Barker, Elizabeth Barker and Madison Barker in Level 6; and Miya Eliyha in Level 7.

Fifteen-year-old Miya Eliyha continued her undefeated reign for the 2018 gymnastic season. Eliyha captured gold in the Level 7 All-Around at the State Meet in March 2018. She continued her reign into the 2018 YMCA Gymnastics National Meet in Toledo. She secured the gold medal in the Level 7 All-Around Senior competition; this makes her undefeated in the All-Around for 12 consecutive gymnastic meets. Eliyha also secured an individual gold on the balance beam, a silver on floor and bronze on vault.

Nine-year-old Lauren Pratt, a Level 2 gymnast, won her first gold medal at YMCA Nationals on the uneven bars, scoring a 9.5 out of a perfect 10. This is Pratt’s first year competing on the Striver Gymnastic Team. Pratt had an incredible first year of competition. She also captured bronze on the balance beam, a sixth in the All-Around and ninth on floor.

Level 2 gymnast Sophia Sternard earned silver in All-Around and floor, a 5th on beam, 7th on bars and 8th on vault. Teammate Bristol Will placed 7th on bars. XCel Silver gymnast Desirae Guilette won silver on beam, 5th on floor, 7th in All-Around and 8th on vault. Level 4 gymnast Tiani LeMeiux placed 9th on beam. Level 6 gymnast Chloe Maccaux placed 5th on floor. Laci Lautenbach earned 6th on floor. Maddie Barker won 5th place on the beam.

Great performances were also turned in by Level 4 gymnast Daylia Sund and Level 6 gymnasts Mallory and Izzy Barker.

The team is coached by Nikki Pollman, Amy Gamble, Gerrit DeJonge, Heather Haese, Libby Pieczynski and Mikki Rankin.

Article Comments