Students Awarded at Annual Miller Salon

The Miller Art Museum revealed the award winners of the 42nd annual Salon of Door County High School Art during a public reception April 25.

The art teachers presented Certificates of Participation to all participating student artists. Curator of Exhibits and Collections Deborah Rosenthal presented cash awards: $100 Awards of Excellence went to Cara Reisen (Gibraltar), Ana Smith (Sevastopol), Janel Musil (Southern Door), Ryan Mueller (Sturgeon Bay), and Sangyoon Lee (Washington Island); Honorable Mention Awards of $50 went to Nicole Li (Gibraltar); Lamyra Adams (Sevastopol); Austin Claflin (Southern Door); Joey Doucette (Sturgeon Bay); and Lydia Schultz (Washington Island).

“This reception, in particular, is always such an awesome event,” said Elizabeth Meissner-Gigstead, MAM executive director. “There is so much to celebrate: the artistic accomplishments of more than 100 students and the special relationships that are formed with the art teachers, the students and the community. We are grateful to everyone involved, parents included; it is truly a team effort and this must-see exhibit is a reality year after year as a result of this ongoing support.”

This year’s salon features 170 works of art from 105 students from the five high schools in Door County. The exhibit will continue through May 31.

In addition, the Door County Art League generously provided each high school art department $100 toward the purchase of supplies for the classroom.

The Miller Art Museum, located in the Door County Library, 107 South 4th Avenue, Sturgeon Bay, is open Mondays 10 am – 8 pm and 10 am – 5 pm Tuesday through Saturday. Call 920.746.0707 or visit for more information.


Related Organizations

Article Comments