Sturgeon Bay High School Inducts First Class into Hall of Fame

On Sept. 1 four coaches will be the first class to be inducted into the Sturgeon Bay Athletic Hall of Fame. Inductees are Ron Casadont, Diane Paterson, Tom Stover and Gordy Saron.

Casadont was the athletic director, world history teacher, physical education teacher, and coach of football, baseball and the ski team. As a football coach he had a 26-7-1 record, and he coached the 1970 ski championship team.

Paterson was a physical education teacher as well as a volleyball, basketball and track coach. Under her leadership the volleyball team won seven conference titles, three regional titles and placed third at WIAA state in 1973; the basketball team won three Packerland Conference titles; and the track team won six conference track titles, two WIAA regional championships, three sectional championships and the state championship in 1972.

Stover was a business teacher, guidance counselor and swim coach. His teams won 20 conference championships, six WIAA sectional championships and three state titles. Additionally, he was selected by the Wisconsin Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association as the Division II Boy’s State Coach of the Year in 2003 and 2004.

Saron was an English teacher as well as a football and track coach. In 1993, his team was runner-up in the state championship. From 1991-93, the overall record of his football teams was 26-5. Three of Saron’s players went on to play in the NFL:  Nick Greisen, Chris Greisen and Casey Rabach.

Article Comments