The Miller Art Museum Introduces Juried Exhibit

The Miller Art Museum announces the opening of its newest exhibit, the 40th Juried Annual, on Sept. 12 with a free reception scheduled to run from 5 – 6:30 pm. The exhibition will feature works in a wide variety of media from artists living within the northeast Wisconsin counties of Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Oconto. Works were selected to create a cohesive presentation from a total of 178 entries representing 98 local and regional artists.

Dianne Saron

“Orange Tint” by Dianne Saron.

“Work selected for inclusion in this year’s exhibit varies greatly in style and subject matter,” says Deborah Rosenthal, curator of exhibitions and collections. “Overall, the exhibit is a good representation of the energy and wide ranging interests of the many artists working in northeast Wisconsin today.”

The jury for this year consisted of three artists:  Shan Bryan-Hanson of Sturgeon Bay, painting faculty and Director and Curator of Art Galleries and Collections at St. Norbert College; Sally Everhardus of Fish Creek, artist and retired arts administrator; and William Greider of Oshkosh, art educator and printmaker.

Door County artists represented in the exhibit are Mitch Leavitt, Arlene Stanger, Ginnie Cappaert, Dan Cross, Elizabeth J. Heller, Dianne Saron, Rob Williams, Bruce Ambuel, Anne Kelly, Sharon Auberle, Betsy Bunda-Ostran, Brigitte Kozma, Jim Leatham, David Skidmore, Sarah Bradley, W. Joseph Christiansen, Martha Coaty, Myrna Leigh Cohn, Luke Collins, Criss Davis, Karen DeNoto, Lynn Gilchrist, Roxanne Hanney, Frances Holt, Lauretta Kelley, Stephen Kelley, Will Roberts, Mac Schueppert, Madonna Siles, Hermke Timm, Archelle “Buttons” Wolst, and David Heilman.

The exhibit will be on display through Nov. 3 at the Miller Art Museum in Sturgeon Bay. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or visit


Related Organizations

Article Comments