The Search Begins for 2013 – 2014 Wisconsin Poet Laureate

The Poet Laureate Commission of Wisconsin recently announced the opening of the application/nomination process for selection of the Wisconsin Poet Laureate for 2013-2014. Submissions are welcome from individual poets seeking the position or from a person nominating a poet for the position.

The Poet Laureate enriches lives by sharing and encouraging poetry through statewide literary events or educational programs. Charged with contributing to the recognition, enjoyment and growth of poetry in this state, the Wisconsin Poet Laureate serves as a standard-bearer for Wisconsin’s poets and their work.

Poet Laureates demonstrate an admirable and proven level of skill in writing poetry, a history of having published individual poems and/or books, and excellence in promoting awareness or enjoyment of poetry in Wisconsin. A Poet Laureate must be at least 18 years of age and a resident of Wisconsin for at least one year.

Wisconsin’s Poet Laureate serves a two-year term. Bruce Dethlefsen, a retired educator from Westfield, is Wisconsin’s fourth Poet Laureate and will complete his tenure at the end of 2012. Other Wisconsin Poet Laureates include Ellen Kort, Denise Sweet and Marilyn Taylor.

Applications are due Oct. 5 at 4 pm. For application materials visit

For more information visit