Track and Field: Eagle Girls Win Packerland Title

Southern Door’s girls track and field team won the Packerland Conference championship at Monday’s meet in Algoma.

The Eagles placed first with 157.5 points, followed by Peshtigo (144.5), Kewaunee (87), Sturgeon Bay (85), Sevastopol (59.5), Gibraltar (57), NEW Lutheran (38), Algoma (35) and Oconto (24.5).

Southern Door’s girls won five of the 18 events. Frankie Nellis placed first in the 200-meter dash (27.76 seconds), long jump (16 feet, 2.5 inches) and triple jump (34-5). Elise Jackson won the 300 hurdles (50.73) and Danica Neville topped the pole vault (9-6).

Sturgeon Bay won three events with Ella Tarkowski in the 100 dash (12.85), Julia Kurek in the 3200 run (12:17.38) and Tarkowski, Cady Carlson, Ava Estes and Jade Tomberlin in the 4×400 relay (4:30.48).

Sevastopol’s Danica Werkheiser, Caitlyn Fellner, Caitlyn Hasenjager and Kylee Duessler placed first in the 4×200 relay (1:54.35).

Gibraltar’s McKailey Reisen won the 100 hurdles (16.03) and high jump (5-4). She also joined Bella Jones, Aria Nordahl and Hayden Knudson to win the 4×100 relay (52.99)

Southern Door’s Damontrae Meeks, shown clearing a hurdle in front of Sturgeon Bay’s Ozzie Langfeldt, won the 110-meter hurdles at Monday’s Packerland Conference meet in Algoma. File photo by Kevin Boneske.

Kewaunee wins boys title

In the boys competition, Kewaunee edged out Southern Door for first by less than five points, 170-165.5, followed by Peshtigo (137.5), Sturgeon Bay (73), Algoma (68), Oconto (24), Gibraltar (23), NEW Lutheran (12.5) and Sevastopol (11.5).

The Eagle boys had five first-place finishes. Zack Lynch won the 100 dash (11.44) and 200 dash (23.58). Lynch also joined Colt Gilbertson, Alaric Urban and Lauden Berg to win the 4×100 relay (46.05). Damontrae Meeks won the 110 hurdles (17.06) and Ben Grota placed first in the 3200 run (10:58.98)

Sturgeon Bay’s three first-place finishes included Braden Evers in the shot put (48-5), Gannon Evers in the discus (150-8) and Xavier Jandrin in the pole vault (12-9).

Gibraltar’s Braden Sitte won the high jump (6-2).