Who’s Up for Reelection in Your Community?

Candidate filing period is Dec. 1, 2020 – Jan. 5, 2021 for spring election 

With the presidential election in the rearview mirror, voters can face forward toward the 2021 spring election.

The spring election will be dominated by races for local offices: electing the people who populate city, village and town boards and have the most immediate impact on local communities and residents. These seats include mayors, alders, town and village board members, and municipal clerks and treasurers. 

The spring election will be held April 6, the primary Feb. 16

The candidate filing period opened Dec. 1 and will close Jan. 5 for those who want to file nomination papers. Candidates should contact their local municipal clerk’s office to do so.

The only state offices to be elected are state superintendent of public instruction; Court of Appeals judges for Districts I, II and III (Door County is in District III); and Circuit Court judges. 

Following is a list of seats up for reelection in the City of Sturgeon Bay and all Door County towns and villages. No Door County board seats are up for reelection in 2021. Listed are the names of the municipalities, the number of seats up for reelection out of the total seats, and the names of the current seat holders who are up for reelection.

City of Sturgeon Bay: Four of seven alder seats held by Helen Bacon, District 1; Dan Williams, District 3; Gary Nault, District 5; and Kirsten Reeths, District 7. Note: the print version indicated that the Mayor’s seat was up for reelection in 2021 but that seat is not up for reelection until 2022.

Village of Egg Harbor: Three of five board seats; John Heller (president), Joe Smith and Angela Lensch.

Village of Ephraim: Three of five board seats; Michael McCutcheon (president), Cindy Nelson and Kenneth Nelson. 

Village of Forestville: Three of five board seats; Terry McNulty (president), Scott Pinchart and Jessica Koskubar.

Village of Sister Bay: Four of seven board seats, including the empty chair seat, formerly held by David Lienau, who resigned effective Dec. 1. (Trustee Denise Bhirdo is temporarily filling the vacancy.) The other seats are held by Chad Kodanko, Nate Bell and Scott Baker. 

Town of Baileys Harbor: Three of five board seats; David Eliot (chair), Peter Jacobs and Roberta Thelen.

Town of Brussels: All three board seats; Joe Wautier (chair), Mark Marchant and Joel Daoust. 

Town of Clay Banks: All three board seats; Myron Johnson (chair), Mark Heimbecher and Patrick Olson. 

Town of Egg Harbor: Three of five board seats; Paul Peterson (chair), Dale Wiegand and Elizabeth Gauger. 

Town of Forestville: All three board seats; Roy Englebert (chair), Larry Huber and Jason Tlachac.

Town of Gardner: Three of five board seats; Mark Stevenson (chair), Glen Merkle and Carl Waterstreet.

Town of Gibraltar: Three of five board seats; Steve Sohns (chair), Brian Merkle and Tim Luettgen.

Town of Jacksonport: All three board seats; Randy Halstead (chair), Tim Bley and Tom Wilson.

Town of Liberty Grove: Three of five board seats; John Lowry (chair), Nancy Goss and Cathy Ward.

Town of Nasewaupee: All three board seats; Steven Sullivan (chair), Dennis Rimert and Don Sixel Jr.

Town of Sevastopol: Three of five board seats; Dan Woelfel (chair), Mark Haen and Linda Wait.

Town of Sturgeon Bay: All three board seats; Daniel Cihlar, Carol Schuster and Paul Skup.

Town of Union: All three board seats; Brian Renard (chair), Bruce Alberts and Jeff LeGrave.

Town of Washington: Three of five board seats; Richard Tobey (chair), Martin Andersen and Hans Lux.