34th Annual Curley Paul/ Jocker Rader Fall Open

The 34th Annual Curley Paul/ Jocko Rader Fall Open was held at Idlewild on September 23. Sixty golfers took part in the day of golf where three winners were crowned, a tie occurred for the medalist winner and one winner was recognized using the Peoria handicapping system.

John Goettelman and Randy Meyer tied with a 73 for the medalist win. Dick Hartl had 75, Jace Schmelzer had 76, Pete Wickman 77 and Fred Schneider had 80.

The Peoria winner was Bob Scofield with a 56. He received the traveling trophy donated by Doc Evenson, 34 years ago. Hank Anderson was second with 50, Dean Gigot had 6l, Bill Decramer and Tom Walter both had 62.

Golfers recognized for the least amount of putts were Eugene Jacobs with 25, Dick Hartl 28, John Goettelman 29, Bill Decramer 29 and Tom McDonald 29.

The four skins on the day were awarded to Pete Stoneman on l4, Dean Gigot on 6, Jace Schmelzer on 7 and Bob Ellison on 10.

Overall, there were 18 events during the day. The winners were Goettelman, Brad Hunsader, Fred Wahlen, Kay Lehmkuhl, Wayne Kiehnau, Dean Gigot, James Larson. Tony Ripp, Ken Larson, Tom Walter, Dave Phillips, Sal Cruz, Dave Compton, Jeff Peterson, Bill Derse, Bob Larsen, Pete Stoneman and Carl Beckstrom.

A banquet was held the Sturgeon Bay Yacht Club after with over 50 door prizes being handed out. The top gift, a round of 18-holes for four with a cart at Horseshoe Bay Golf Club, was won by Eugene Jacobs.