FSA County Committee Nomination Period Began June 15

Kewaunee County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) Executive Director Tim Siehr announced the nomination period for local FSA county committees began June 15.

“County Committees are unique to FSA and allow producers to have a voice on federal farm program implementation at the local level,” said Siehr.

To be eligible to serve on a FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in an FSA administered program, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area (LAA) where they are nominated.

This year, nominations and elections will be held in Kewaunee County LAA 3, which includes the townships of Luxemburg, Red River and Lincoln. Door County will also conduct nominations and elections in the Townships of Gardner, Union, Brussels, Forestville and Clay Banks.

Farmers and livestock producers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at 2016 nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Kewaunee County FSA Office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2016.

“It is important that county committees are comprised of members who fairly represent the diverse demographics of production agriculture for their community,” said Siehr. “All producers, including women, minority and beginning farmers and ranchers are encouraged to participate in the nomination and election process.”

FSA will mail election ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 7, 2016. Ballots must be returned to the Kewaunee county FSA office via mail or in person by Dec. 5, 2016. Newly-elected committee members and alternates will take office on Jan. 1, 2017. For more information, contact the Kewaunee County FSA office at 920.845.1360 or visit

Article Comments