Sturgeon Bay Sidewalk Project

The sidewalk block project undertaken by the Door County Historical Museum staff is ready for display. During the past year, the museum asked for help locating the remaining cornerstones with the pre-1943 street names or residents names stamped into them, and there have been some results. Eighteen stones have been located and photographed, research has been done on the early homes located at the sites and a display has been created at the museum highlighting the findings.

Stop by the museum to see the display and an accompanying map so visitors can take a walking tour to see the stones, learn about the historic homes and experience them firsthand. A number of them are located on Louisiana Street, just a short walk from the museum. An app is also being developed so the tour can be followed using smartphones. The app will be available shortly. 

There is still room to add more information if any stones have been missed; contact the museum at 920.743.5809 or [email protected]. The museum, located at 18 N. Fourth Ave in Sturgeon Bay, is open 10 am to 4:30 pm daily. Though admission is free, donations are appreciated.

Article Comments