Four Apply for Common Council Vacancy

Stephen Day, Randy Morrow, Caitlin Oleson and Dennis Statz have all submitted applications to fill the District 2 seat on the Sturgeon Bay Common Council that was left vacant when Alderperson David Hayes resigned effective Sept. 30. The city asked those interested in serving to send a brief statement about their background and interest by Oct. 8. Applicants needed to reside within the city’s east-side district and be at least 18 years old. The Common Council will select one of the candidates to fill the vacancy during its Oct. 20 meeting. That person will then serve for the remainder of Hayes’ two-year term.