New Miller Exhibition Celebrates Local, Regional Artists

The Miller Art Museum is pleased to announce the opening of its newest exhibit, the 41st Juried Annual, on Nov. 5 with a free reception for the exhibiting artists, their guests, and the public from 3 – 4:30 pm. Eight cash awards will be announced at 3:30 pm. A free public program, “A Conversation with the Jurors” will accompany the exhibition and is scheduled for Thursday, Dec. 8 at 10:30 am.

This year’s exhibition will feature the work of 48 artists selected from a pool of 99 applicants who competed for space in the exhibit; work will include 53 pastels, paintings, prints, photographs, digital imagery and mixed media works.


“This year’s exhibition is particularly rich in a variety of landscape subjects exploring sites across the world as varied as Alaska and England, and many Wisconsin locations such as Two Rivers and Kangaroo Lake in Door County,” says Deborah Rosenthal, curator of exhibitions and collections. “Abstraction, realism, and impressionism are all used by the landscape artists in watercolor, oil, acrylic, pastel, printmaking, and wood assemblage media. Also included are a great variety of approaches to photography, both traditional and experimental,” she continued. Additional genres rounding out the exhibition include still life, fantasy, portraiture, and a wide range of other subjects.”


Every year the Miller Art Museum invites visual artists age 18 years and older residing in a five-county radius to submit up to two works in two-dimensional media. The jury panel spends a full day reviewing images of the submitted artwork. The jurors vary from year to year, and therefore the opportunity for an artist to be selected is renewed each year.


Rosenthal charges the jurors with reaching a consensus on every submission accepted or not accepted during the process.  “We talked about the work and had to navigate each other’s own personal tastes,” said juror Kendra Bulgrin. “There were works that we all could agree on and there were others that took some convincing. Competition was fierce, especially in the genre of landscape painting (as there were many entries).”


About the Jurors

This year’s 3-member jury panel was comprised of artist Marcia Boyd of Egg Harbor; Kendra Bulgrin of Algoma, director of the James May Gallery and Adjunct Assistant Professor of art at St. Norbert College; and Brian Pirman of DePere, Associate Professor of Art, St. Norbert College.

Collectively, the jurors had high praise for the artwork entered this year. Bulgrin explains, “As a curator I’m in the business of looking for images that…are remarkable, exceptional, outstanding, arresting in their own right. Beautiful, inventive and original images were submitted, making our work both easier and more difficult.”


Juror Brian Pirman described the difficult situation facing the group, “We all took this privilege and responsibility quite seriously. It was not an easy selection process because there were so many high quality submissions; there was such a strong range of work that demonstrated professional use of color, composition, different mediums and many highly technical solutions. It is obvious that there is high quality, diverse work being done in various mediums in Northeast Wisconsin!”


"Hat Shop" by Arlene Stanger.

“Hat Shop” by Arlene Stanger.

Door County artists exhibiting in the 41st Juried Annual are Donna Brown, Susan Hoffmann, Mitch Leavitt, Cheryl Stidwell Parker, Arlene Stanger, and Steven Stanger from Baileys Harbor; Ginnie Cappaert, Dan Cross, Tom De Mint, Jeanne Kuhns, Steven Monske, R. Michael Nitsch, Jeffrey Olson, and Dianne Saron from Egg Harbor; Susan Reynolds-Smith and Nan Zimdars of Ephraim; Rick Brawner, Anne Kelly, Andrea Kinsey-Jauquet and Nancy K. Sargent from Fish Creek; Cody LaCrosse of Forestville; Jim Leatham and David Skidmore of Sister Bay; Sarah Bradley, Carl Chan, W. Joseph Christiansen, Martha Coaty, Richard A. Geudtner, Lynn Gilchrist, Thomas Jordan, Lauretta Kelley, Rolf Olson, Mac Schueppert and Archelle Wolst from Sturgeon Bay.

Exhibiting artists from Green Bay are: Patricia Derozier, Bill Doyle, Sandi Noel, Cynthia Tumpach, Chris Vander Velde; Brown County: Mauree Childress, Linda Rauscher and Marilyn Stasiak (DePere), Davida Schulman (New Franken); Kewaunee County: Randall S. Dettmann (Algoma); and Manitowoc County: David Heilman (Two Rivers), Rebecca Jabs, Sandra Murzyn, and Russell Schwindt (Manitowoc).

The exhibit will be on display through December 29, 2016. For more information, call 920.746.0707 or go to


About the Miller Art Museum

The Miller Art Museum is a multifaceted nonprofit organization showcasing an array of visual artthrough ever-changing thematic, invitational and juried exhibits and houses a stunning permanent collection of Wisconsin art. The museum’s rich legacy of serving the community was launched in 1975 and continues through its mission to foster and inspire the creative life of the community and to be a catalyst for enrichment through cultural, art appreciation, and educational programming for people of all ages. The Museum is located in the Door County Library in Sturgeon Bay located at 107 S. 4th Ave. Hours are 10 am to 8 pm on Mon. and 10 am to 5 pm Tues. through Sat. An elevator is available to access galleries in the mezzanine.  For more information visit or call 920.746.0707.

Related Organizations

Article Comments