Pesto Festo II Winners Announced

Pesto Winners Barbara Henderson, Kaylynn Peterson, Char Rowe and Chriss Kallin.

Pesto Festo Judges Steve Wisniewski, Sally Everhardus and Ron Dammon.

The successful Pesto Festo II concluded on Saturday, August 2 with the awarding of the prizes for the Judges’ Awards and the People’s Choice Awards. Fourteen different entries were “tasted” by both the judges and the public. The judges, Steve Wisniewski (Door County Memorial Hospital Executive Chef), Sally Everhardus (the 2007 Pesto Festo I Judges’ Award winner) and Ron Dammon (the 2007 Pesto Festo I People’s Choice winner) presented the following awards: First Place, Barbara Henderson (Classic Pesto); Second Place, Vicki Dirst (Lemon Pecan Pesto), Third Place, Kriss Kallin (Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Pesto); and Most Original, Char Rowe (Tart & Sassy Pesto).

The People’s Choice Awards, sponsored by the Door County Memorial Hospital, were given to: First Place, Kaylynn Peterson (Greek Pesto); Second Place, Kriss Kallin (Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Pesto); and Third Place, Kaylynn Peterson (Classic Pesto).

Pesto recipes will be available in the Garden Door and on-line at (choose Local Associations and Door County). The recipes will be part of the DCMGA October Newsletter.

The Door County Master Gardeners Association thanks the following for their support of the Pesto Festo II: Door County Memorial Hospital, Maas Floral and Greenhouse, Briggsville Gardens, Cornucopia, Sally Everhardus, Mary Gehm, Doug Henderson, the UW Peninsular Agricultural Research Station Staff and all who attended the DCMGA Garden Door Open House.