Pond Hockey Tournament Draws Crowd to Kangaroo Lake

Mother Nature provided a beautiful day for the fifth Door County Pond Hockey Tournament on Kangaroo Lake Saturday, Feb. 10, 2018.

The tournament welcomed more than 300 players on 46 teams from Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota and Utah. Teams competed on 15 rinks created on the lake in Baileys Harbor on a sunny day with temperatures in the teens.

Champions were crowned in six divisions, with each receiving the Stanley Thermos trophy and growlers from presenting sponsor Door County Brewing Co.

The Fitzgerald Freighters of De Pere won their third straight title in the tournament’s top division.

Spectators enjoyed food and beverages served up by Door County Rotary North and the Baileys Harbor Community Association. The tournament is organized by the Peninsula Pacers, who clear and flood rinks, with help from several volunteers who help flood rinks and lend equipment, including Dave Varney, Bill Anderson, Chris Miller, Cody Leist, Cody Bolton, 911 Lawn Care, Pro Tree Service, and local Cub Scouts. Twenty volunteer scorekeepers kept games clean and moving on schedule.

The sixth Door County Pond Hockey Tournament will be held Saturday Feb. 9, 2019. Registration will open for returning teams Aug. 1.

2018 Door County Pond Hockey Tournament Champions

Open A:  Fitzgerald Freighters (De Pere)
Open B:  Beemcity Skulls (Milwaukee)
Open C:  PVHC (Madison)
Classic A:  TL Hawks (Tower Lakes, Ill.)
Classic B:  MCHL (Madison)
Legends:  Old Redhawks (Hales Corners)

Related Organizations

Article Comments