Skalka Wins Best Mystery Honors

The Midwest Independent Publishing Association (MIPA, has announced the winners of its 29th annual Midwest Book Awards, which recognize quality in independent publishing in the Midwest. All books were copyrighted in 2018 and entered by publishers in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Winners were announced on May 4 at the Midwest Book Awards Gala in St. Paul. Congratulations to the winner of the Fiction – Mystery/Thriller category: local writer Patricia Skalka (details in bold). The other nominees in that category were:                          

8 Seconds to Midnight by John Leifer (Earhart Press)

Black Fin by Mary Frisbee (North American Review Press)

Death Rides the Ferry by Patricia Skalka (University of Wisconsin Press)

Under Pain of Mortal Sin by Donald Cozzens (ACTA Publications)