35th Juried Annual Exhibition Opens at Miller Art Museum

“Trees With Moon,” pen, ink, and acrylic, by Tim Erskine.

The Miller Art Museum’s 35th Juried Annual Exhibition will open Saturday, Nov. 13. Forty-five works by thirty-six artists will be on exhibit through Dec. 28. The pubic is welcome to a reception for the artists on Monday, Nov. 15 from 7 – 8:30 pm. Awards will be presented at the reception at 7:30 pm. Craig Blietz, local artist and teacher will critique the show on Thursday, Dec. 9 at 10:30 am.

The competitive exhibition received 149 submissions. After a full day of consideration, the jury made its selections and chose three works to receive Special Merit Awards. Three additional pieces were selected by each juror individually to honor with a Jurors’ Choice Award. This year’s jurors included Bonnita Budysz, Emmett Johns, and Shelby Keefe.

The Gerhard Miller Award of Excellence will also be announced at the exhibit reception. Selected by the Miller Art Museum staff, the award recognizes excellence in honor of the museum’s founder.

Represented Door County artists include Marianne Diekman, Mary Blotti Anderson, Deborah Woerfel, Chris Aufdermauer, Maggie E. Banks, Lynn Gilchrist, Kasey J. Hembel, John McCaulley, Randall Rasmussen, Mac Schueppert, Madonna Siles, Archelle (Buttons) Wolst, Armando Zeledَn, Janet Comstock, Malin Ekman, Calsey Cross, Dan Cross, Tom DeMint, Jeffrey Olson, Rob Williams, Shirley Williams, Tim Erskine, Lucas Frykman, and Heather Harle-Frykman.

The museum, located at 107 S. 4th Avenue in Sturgeon Bay, is open 10 am – 8 pm on Monday and 10 am – 5 pm, Tuesday – Saturday. For more information call 920.746.0707 or visit