Nominations for Wisconsin Cherry Board

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) nominations for Wisconsin Cherry Board directors are being accepted through April 1. Established in 1984, this market order board has five members who represent 34 licensed cherry producers. Its purpose is promotion, new product development, research, and education. In 2014, cherry growers held a referendum to move to a five-member board, with all directors elected at-large. This referendum was approved in 2015, eliminating districts. The board is responsible for the management of an annual assessment that ranges from $20,000 to $30,000. The assessment rate is $10 per ton for processing and custom-packed cherries, and $3 per ton for juice cherries. Cherry production in Wisconsin is concentrated mainly in Door County. Wisconsin’s cherry growers’ fruit had a value of $3.8 million in 2013. Current cherry board directors are Lee Petrina, Sturgeon Bay (president); Barry Peterson, Green Bay; James Seaquist, Sister Bay; Dan Krowas, Baileys Harbor; Glen Musil, Sturgeon Bay. Nomination forms can be found online at

Article Comments